Moody Wonder

2 Jul

Spoiler Alert: Pregnant women and expectant fathers may want to look away now…

My husband has a nickname for me. MW. It stands for Moody Wonder. It’s pretty self-explanatory. On occasions, I’m guilty of being a rather high maintenance person. Ok, maybe slightly more than occasionally.

The fact he adds ‘wonder’ to the ‘moody’ just goes to prove to me even more what a beautiful human being my husband is. He can’t even give me an honest and well-deserved nickname (Moody) without being kind and generous. (Wonder).

It is with this in mind that I am going to name him Saint Husband. He really does deserve it. For I am a pregnant, hormonal nightmare. I’m unpredictable, I’m angry, I overreact at the smallest of things. I hate everything and everyone. People who I found only mildly annoying and offensive a few months ago I now want to kill, and as much as I try, I can do nothing to stop it.  Pregnancy hormones have turned me into a creature from the deep. If I were to give myself a nickname it would begin with C and rhyme with munt.

Apparently it is very common to have mood swings during pregnancy because of hormonal changes that affect your levels of neurotransmitters (chemical messengers in the brain). Everyone responds differently to these changes and I don’t know how, but in some, heightened emotions are positive. Hubby, I’m so sorry I’m not one of those women. Perhaps he shouldn’t actually read this, but, according to the Internet, most women find that moodiness flares up around 6-10 weeks, eases up in the second trimester and then comes back at the end. Must just be me then that has got worse as the weeks have gone on. I’m just over half way. By week 40 I’ll have either had an aneurism, committed murder or hubby will be filing for divorce.

But it’s not just the rage. Oh no. Because what normally follows the murderous outbursts are tears. Big heaving sobs that leave me bright red, snotty nosed and feeling an overwhelming sense of guilt for being such a bitch. Again. I have no control over this. If I wasn’t pregnant I’m pretty sure I would be sectioned. Either that or I’d wake up to find my head spinning 360 degrees as I’m levitating above the bed. I’m up and down like a yoyo and it’s exhausting. Please tell me there are others like this out there?

Take last Sunday for example. I woke up and felt moody. Not in a ‘got out of the wrong side of the bed’ grumpy, but like Joey Barton on the football pitch.  If only someone could show me a red card.

I’ve been shouting and moaning at hubby all day.

I made him breakfast and although I offered – as I do every morning (I won’t actually let him make it) – I felt annoyed he didn’t offer.

Next we went to a buggy shop, but it wasn’t open. I screamed. In the street.

Walking back home it starts raining. I can’t believe hubby can’t control the weather.

I eat lunch. This makes me happy. Food always does.

I watch Eastenders and I cry. Actually it’s about someone having a premature baby so I’m hysterically crying. Hubby spends 10 minutes comforting me. I then cry again because he’s being so nice to me.

I have friends coming to stay so hubby organizes the spare room. He started this yesterday by unpacking all of our clothes that were still left out from our holiday. How lovely you might think? Well, whilst he’s organising the room I discover he’s put all of my clothes in the wrong drawers. You would think from my reaction he’s just announced he’s having an affair. I scream, I shout, I walk into his wardrobe and pull all of his clothes on the floor asking him how he feels to have his clothes in the wrong place. Yes, I am actually crazy. 

Hubby deals with me very well – by ignoring me. I rant for another five minutes before bursting into tears and sobbing like a baby for being so horrible. Hubby is amazing and tells me it’s ok and then bursts out laughing as he admits to finding my bizarre behavior rather amusing. I suppose the situation is actually funny. So humorous, in fact, that I then start crying again. Tears mixed with laughter. I’m seriously losing my pregnant mind.

I’d say with confidence we’re both very much counting down the days until the pregnancy hormones dissipate. I might not tell hubby it could last another 17 weeks… 

2 Responses to “Moody Wonder”

  1. dustycobweb July 2, 2012 at 12:44 pm #

    I have bookmarked this to show my husband when he gets in from work. At 21 weeks pregnant with twins, it’s sounding painfully familiar!

    • mum-to-be July 2, 2012 at 1:17 pm #

      My husband will be so pleased to hear there are others! Good luck with your pregnancy. Is it double the hormones with twins? x

Leave a Reply

