Only 10 Weeks and Counting!

16 Aug

Something has happened to me in the last week. I’ve realised that I’m actually having a baby.

If I’m honest, it’s only something I’ve really thought about in the abstract sense. I talk about it a lot, but it’s like I’m talking about someone else.  It’s been this amazing thing that is happening in my life, but getting to the end of the pregnancy is all I have really thought about. I’ve certainly not thought about the practicalities of coming home with a baby in tow and that I somehow have to keep alive and not starve, or drop, or drown.  But now, 30 weeks in, it feels very, very real.  And very, very scary.

I’ve been trying to work out why I’ve only suddenly realised what my ever expanding tummy has been telling me for months. I think it’s for a variety of reasons.

Up until now it’s been dragging. A lot. I’ve felt sick, tired, emotional, fat, and I constantly stare at the calendar. I have not bloomed and for the most part, it’s not been fun. Getting to week 30 felt like a milestone. I knew as soon as I got to this stage that I would feel like I’m on the final countdown. The homestretch. Lift off. And it really does. Suddenly ten weeks feels like ten minutes.

I’ve done the one thing I vowed not to do, nor wanted to do. I bought a baby book. Baby books scare me. There are far too many opinions – often by people who don’t even have children – that I find myself in a whole world of confusion, feeling more clueless than I did before I even picked it up. I am also a strong believer that reading a million and one ‘how to’ books can make you question the one thing that should come naturally – your instinct. 

However, I suddenly realised I knew very little about what to do when you first get home. So I found the least patronising and most practical book I could find and sat down to have a little read of the 0-3 month’s section. 

What stuck out for me (and this is when I think it really hit home) is that hubby and I go into the hospital as a couple expecting a baby, but we leave as parents. Completely and utterly responsible for another life. It is at this moment I cried (tears of happiness or terror I’m still not sure).

How will I know when baby is hungry, or tired, in need of changing, or (worst case) in pain? This isn’t Family Guy. I’m pretty sure my baby won’t talk. Unless I missed a chapter.

We are also now the proud owners of a Moses basket. However, it wasn’t the buying of this that made it more real. It was the fact we needed to buy sheets to go into the Moses basket. See, you sleep on sheets. The Moses basket is not just a pretty basket on a lovely wooden stand to go into our bedroom. A little person is going to be sleeping in it. 

I then watched a programme about midwives and saw someone in labour. She looked and sounded like she was dying. It was at this moment I cried (again).

Oh and the last thing? It would seem I have started producing milk. If anything is going to make it more real, looking down and resembling a cow is going to do it.

8 Responses to “Only 10 Weeks and Counting!”

  1. 10 weeks to go today! August 16, 2012 at 10:36 am #

    Thais is so true! On buying a super cute moses basket which came with a matching mini duvet, my friend told me that the duvet’s cause cot death. Fail at hurdle 1. We now have a baby book/user manual!!

    • mum-to-be August 16, 2012 at 10:41 am #

      What do you use instead of a duvet?! I think I need more books…

      • 10 weeks to go today! August 17, 2012 at 9:29 am #

        Blankets, the cotton ones with holes in them so baby can breathe if they stick their head under them. Otherwise there are gro-bags, they look like short sleeve duvet dresses with the bottom sewn up. The idea being that the baby’s arms stay out to prevent over heating and they can’t put their head under the covers. They come in 1.0 and 2.5 tog varieties, seems a bit low but apparently that’s all they need.

  2. mum-to-be August 17, 2012 at 2:41 pm #

    Ah yes, I was going to buy a gro-bag. Def will now!

  3. Rosie H August 27, 2012 at 5:17 pm #

    If it’s any comfort, I was convinced I would never have any clue what my baby wanted at any given time. 11 days in, I still don’t know, especially at 3 am, but I can get her to stop crying eventually. It helps that her wants are fairly limited at this stage – feeding, winding, changing and cuddling being about the lot – so I can just try them all in succession until one works.

    Gro-bags are great, but you can only use them once the baby’s past 7 lb and isn’t going to get his/her head trapped. Mine hasn’t got to that stage yet. 😦

    • mum-to-be August 29, 2012 at 9:24 am #

      Thanks Rosie, it’s definitely a comfort! I’m certainly feeling the fear as D day gets nearer. I didn’t know you couldn;t use the grow bags under 7lb – will make sure I get blankets too. I hope everything is going well for you x

      • Rosie H August 31, 2012 at 2:02 pm #

        Well, I thought the baby had to be 7 lb, but I read somewhere today that you can get some that go down to 6 lb, so maybe it depends on the brand.

      • mum-to-be August 31, 2012 at 2:09 pm #

        Thank you. Will have a look into it this weekend

Leave a Reply

