Time Flies

22 Oct

I cannot believe it. My little baby boy is about to be a year old. I have absolutely no idea where the last year has gone. I feel like I was pregnant, I had him, I blinked, and now he’s one. A friend said to me the other day that when you have a child the days are long, but the years fly by. She was not wrong.

To say I’m feeling emotional and reflective about it is an understatement. I can’t stop thinking about the past year and how my life has changed. How a year ago hubby and I had absolutely no idea what it would be like to have a child and yet now it’s like he has been with us forever. Our world has turned upside down and I think I speak for both of us when I say it has been the most amazing, crazy, wonderful, sleep-deprived, fulfilling year of our lives.

I feel like I have spent the past year on a roller coaster. It has been at the same time thrilling, nerve wracking, exhausting, funny and brilliant. It’s been the steepest learning curve I’ve ever experienced. I thought I knew what it would be like to be a mummy and I thought I knew what it was like to love someone unconditionally, but I had no idea. I never knew it was possible to love every inch of flesh, every strand of hair, every noise, every gurgle, every touch, every smile, every cry and every breath that one small person can take. Now I do.

Not only does having a child change your life, it also changes the life of those around you and the relationships you have with them. My mum, my wonderful mum, is not just my mum anymore – she is nanny to my boy. Her baby now has a baby and he has become the centre of our world. She told me once that she is very proud of what a great mum I am. It is the greatest compliment I have ever received.

My husband’s parents are grandparents for the first time and they are wonderful with him. You can see the love they have for him radiating out of them whenever they’re near him. My husband loves seeing this side of them.

Our siblings are fantastic aunts and uncles and our friends who now count us as a three, have been really supportive as hubby and I ventured into the total unknown.

The past year of being a new mum has also brought a whole new group of people into our lives – my ‘mummy’ friends. An antenatal class is a rather unique situation to be thrown into with strangers. I never anticipated how close I would become to them or how much I would rely on them in my first year as a mummy. They are an amazing group of women with beautiful children who I feel privileged to know and to see grow up. Ladies, thank you.

When he was teeny tiny I started writing a list of his ‘firsts’. When he first giggled (3.5 months), when he first rolled over (4 months – he then couldn’t be bothered to do it again until 6 months), when he got his first tooth (4 months), when he first crawled (7 months), what he ate first (strawberry), and the order in which he tried different foods (a lot, very quickly). I cannot believe how much happens in the first year. It is astounding the rate at which they develop.

Due to this I am determined to enjoy every moment with him. To relish every stage and every step with him. To laugh with him, cry with him, walk with him, and talk with him and to make the most of every cuddle with him.

I sobbed to hubby last night in a very dramatic fashion about our boy growing up far too quickly and how before we know it we’ll be celebrating his 18th birthday and that I can’t cope with him not being my baby anymore. I said I think that having lots more babies is the way to deal with this. Hubby being more of the ‘two children is enough’ persuasion looked like he was about to start sobbing too.

Leave a Reply

